Canadian National Committee for the International Union of Psychological Science

ANNUAL REPORT 2015

Members: Jennifer Veitch (Chair); John Berry (IUPsyS delegate); Marta Young (IUPsyS delegate);); Members-at-large: Health science -- Michel Lariviere, David Nussbaum; Neuro/bio/behavioural science [NBB] — Valerie Thompson, Aimée Surprenant, Douglas Mewhort; social science -- Peter Hausdorf, Don Saklofske, Joseph Snyder; Michelle Gagnon (student member); Jean St-Aubin (*ex-officio* — Chair, Scientific Affairs Committee); Pierre Ritchie (*ex-officio* — IUPsyS representative to WHO); Michel Sabourin (*ex-officio* — IUPsyS Treasurer); Janel Gauthier (*ex-officio* — Chair, CPA International Relations Committee).

CPA-NRC Partnership

Canada's IUPsyS dues payment is contingent on the result of an annual performance review (APR) by the National Research Council International Relations Office. This document evaluates the overall relevance of psychological science to Canada's national science and technology goals, the performance of Canadian psychological scientists towards the goals, and the performance of the CNC/IUPsyS in representing Canada and its psychological scientists in IUPsyS. Psychology consistently scores highly in this review. For 2013, the CNC/IUPsyS scored 43.3/45 on its APR (the mean of 28 committees in this system was 37.84). Although we do not know the precise score we obtained on the 2014 APR, the review was successful and NRC has made the 2015 payment.

Committee Structure and Membership

In 2014 we recruited a new IUPsyS Delegate for an 8-year term, until 2022. She is Dr. Marta Young of the University of Ottawa. Two new Members-at-large joined the committee, both from NBB science: Prof. Aimée Surprenant [Memorial U. of Newfoundland] (until June 2017) and Prof. Valerie Thompson [U. of Saskatchewan] (until June 2018). We are currently recruiting for four members-at-large (2 health, 1 social, 1 NBB).

Activities

The committee did not use *Psynopsis* in the current year to reach members, but sent announcements to CPA members using CPA News e-mails and social media.

The CNC/IUPsyS and the International Relations Committee jointly nominated Prof. Kazuo Shigemasu (Teikyo University, Japan) to give an invited address at the CPA Convention in Ottawa in 2015. Prof. Shigemasu is the President of the organizing committee for the 31st International Congress of Psychology (ICP) to be held in Yokohama in July 2016.

IUPsyS Business

In 2014, Prof. J-P Blondin (U. de Montréal) resigned his position as Treasurer-Designate of IUPsyS. Prof. Michel Sabourin agreed to continue as Treasurer until a new Treasurer is appointed. After extensive discussion, the CNC/IUPsyS formally decided against nominating a Canadian for the role of Treasurer. The position had been held in Canada since the 1950s, and ought to rotate to another country.

The Canadian delegates participated actively in the General Assembly of IUPsyS in Paris in July 2014, particularly as concerns the international balance of invited speakers at the ICP 2016, and joining a task force related to proposed governance changes at IUPsyS.

Jennifer A. Veitch, Ph.D., Chair