CPA Counselling Psychology Section Section Annual Meeting Minutes Thursday June 9th, 2016 at 15:00 Victoria, BC

Present: Robinder Bedi, Anusha Kassan, ,Carlton Duff, Lara Hiseler, Julie Cohen, Sharon Cairns, Michael Zwiers, Ada Sinacore, Konstantinos Chondros, Jessica Van Vliet, José Domene, Megan Suehn, Alyssa Ryan, Janelle Kwee, Derrick Klassen, Kelsey Borgfjiord, Kayla Christiani, Pavithra Thomas, Lara Schulttz, Kaori Wada, Zarina Gianone, Beth Haverkamp, Melanie Fuller, Natalee Popadiuk, Anne Marshall, Rosalynn Record, Richard Young.

- 1. Call to order Meeting called to order at 4:09 p.m.
- 2. Approval of agenda Amended date and time. Moved by Shelly Russell-Mayhew, seconded by Jose Domene. Carried.
- 3. Review of minutes from 2015 Section Annual Meeting. Amended to include attendees. Moved by Lara Hiseler, seconded by Anusha Kassan. Carried.
- 4. Business Arising
 - 4.1 Awards/Reviewers (Lara Hiseler). Report on activities over the year. Congratulations to our newest fellow Jose Domene.
 - 4.2 Surveys of Full members and Students (Rob). Results presented in a symposium. Will be submitting for publication.
 - 4.3 Best Newsletter Award (Rob). For second year in a row the section has won the best newsletter of year award. Recognition of Konstantinos Chondros award for naming the newsletter and Janet Miller's work in producing an outstanding newsletter.
 - 4.4 New Chair's Vision (Anusha). Major push in the next couple of years will be pursuing the development of the membership preferred counselling psych conference/summit, internship development, and culturally competent care.
 - 4.5 Student Rep now receives CPA membership costs of \$100.00 reimbursed (Julie).
 - 4.6 Terms of Reference (Lara). Bylaws were renamed terms of reference due to regulations associated with non profit organisations.
 - 4.7 Drop in membership (Rob). Membership in section has dropped by about 100 members. Discussion re what might be happening and potential solutions: reach out to former members associated with other sections, advocate for reduced cost for those who belong to multiple sections, reconsider the fee structure, is there a way that we can engage more with non members through the blog this is not yet a forum that people are using Janet is able to track hits, survey of those who have left and potentially send out a copy of our award winning newsletters, consideration of the practitioners' needs who often perceive the section as more academically oriented, opportunity in future conferences to advertise preconvention workshops that would attract practitioners such as setting up a business practice. Current plan is to send out newsletter to doctoral programs and then later to masters program.

- 5. Section annual report Rob Bedi. Reviewed 2015 annual report submitted to CPA. Membership in 2015 241 (down 53 in 2016) and 203 student affiliates (down 103 in 2016).
- 6. Section financial report Sharon Cairns. Financial report and budget presented. Moved that the special projects be approved contingent on available funding by Beth Haverkamp, seconded by Janet Miller, carried.
- 7. Survey Results re: Surplus (Julie/Sharon). Thank you to all who completed the survey. We had 62 respondents. In order, the top choices were National Conference or Summit, international speakers, research grants, and then rotating awards. The executive thought that focusing on one endeavour would be better than spreading this out.
- 8. Convention Programming Carlton Duff. Appreciation expressed for conference reviewers.
- 9. Update Student Affairs Julie Cohen. Grad School in Counselling Psych Presentation developed to highlight what is counselling psychology.
- 10. Communication (e.g. newsletter, blog, website, Facebook) Janet Miller/Melanie Fuller / Julie Cohen. Updates provided.
- 11. Acknowledgements and Awards Lara Hiseler
- 11.1 Acknowledgement of invited keynote speaker (Dr. Roy Moodley): Re-imagining Canadian Counselling Psychology: Colouring in by Integrating Global South Psychologies and Healing Practices
- 11.2 Acknowledgement of Reviewers for theses and posters.
- 11.3 Best Doctoral Dissertation Award No submissions.
- 11.4 Best Master's Thesis Award Chelsea Arsenault
- 11.5 Best Doctoral Poster Maggie Brennan
- 11.6 Best Master's Poster Matthew McDaniel
- 12. Archive Committee (Janet Miller). Call for volunteers.
- 13. Awards Committee (Rob Bedi). Call for Volunteers.
- 15. Elections
 - 13.1 Secretary-Treasurer (Jose Domene) Appointed by acclamation.
 - 13.2 Student Representative (Theresa Jubenville). Appointed by acclamation.
- 16. Thanks to outgoing Executive Julie Cohen and Sharon Cairns

Adjournment. Moved by Lara Hiseler. Adjourned at 5:06.