CPA Section 24, Counselling Psychology

Annual Report, 2007 - 2008

The current membership is 300 members, including 130 student members. The Section Executive includes Dr. Vivian Lalande (Chair), Dr. Jennifer Nicol (Past Chair), Dr. Shelly Russell-Mayhew (Secretary-Treasurer) and Reana Saraceni (Student Representative). Dr. Colleen Haney is the Coordinator of Student Awards, Dr. Patrice Keats is the Conference Review Coordinator, and Mr. Mike Huston is the Newsletter Editor. We also had a large group of members who kindly volunteered to adjudicate the conference paper proposals this year.

The Executive Committee with the mandate to develop a Canadian definition of the term "counselling psychology" has continued to work through the past year. This committee consists of Rob Bedi and Beth Haverkamp (co-chairs), Derek Truscott, Romeo Beatch, James Loh, Douglas Cave, Greg Harris, Jose Domene, and Anne Marie Mikhail (student member). The committee will be reporting at the CPA 2008 conference and inviting discussion on this topic.

Each year, the Counselling Psychology Section makes available 4 student awards. A monetary award of \$100 is presented in each of the following categories: Best PhD Dissertation, Best Masters Thesis, Best Masters Conference Poster, and Best Doctoral Conference Poster. Nominations are also being accepted for the Counselling Psychology Section: Distinguished Member Award. Award recipients are announced at the Section of Counselling Psychology Members' Reception that is held during each CPA conference.

Congratulations to the 2007 student award recipients. Robin Cox (University of British Columbia) received an award for her dissertation: *Transgressions and transformations: Identity reorientation and the discourse of disaster recovery*. Awards for outstanding Master's Conference Posters were given to Babatunde Ogunfowora (University of Calgary) *A study on the relationship between personality traits and theoretical orientation preferences* and Michelle Emmerling (University of Alberta) *The working alliance and stage of change in psychotherapy*.

The Counselling Psychology section programme at the 2008 conference in Halifax will include a Section Keynote Speaker, Dr. Charles Chen (OISE) who is speaking on the topic *Toward a Proactive Learning Framework in Career Psychology*. There is also a sponsored symposium on the topic of *Towards a Canadian Understanding of Counselling Psychology* (Report from Executive Committee for a Canadian Definition of Counselling Psychology) offered by Rob Bedi and Beth Haverkamp (co-chairs) and the following panel members: Douglas Cave, José Domene, Greg Harris, James Loh, Anne Marie Mikhail, and Derek Truscott. This symposium will be followed by a Conversation Session to provide a forum for discussion about counselling psychology in Canada and responses to the report from the Committee for a Canadian Definition of Counselling Psychology. There will also be a CPA Invited Speaker (Dr. Christina Robb) who is cosponsored by the Sections of Counselling Psychology, Women and Psychology and

Clinical Psychology. In addition, there are a number of counselling papers and posters at this year's conference that will provide an interesting programme overall.

Respectively Submitted,

Vivian Lalande

Chair, CPA Counselling Psychology Section