# 2009 Annual Report

# **Section on Counselling Psychology**

#### **Section Executive**

The 2008-2008 Executive Committee consisted of Sharon Cairns (Chair), Vivian Lalande (Past Chair), Shelly Russell-Mayhew (Secretary-Treasurer), Patrice Keats (Member at Large - Review Coordinator), Colleen Haney (Member at Large - Student Awards), and Reana Saraceni (Student Representative). Our Web Master is José Domene, and our Newsletter Editors are Michael Huston and Olga Sutherland.

#### **Membership**

As of May 1, 2009, the Section had a membership of 378, including 185 student affiliates. This number represents a growth of 78 (26%) over last year.

### Annual Convention Activities (include date and time of section business meeting)

The Counselling Psychology program at the 2009 conference in Montreal will include a Section Keynote Speaker, Dr. Nancy Heath (McGill), who is speaking on *Non-suicidal Self Injury: The Challenge for Counsellors*. Along with the International & Cross Cultural and Clinical Sections, we conominated the CPA Invited Speaker, Dr. Lawrence Kimayer, who will be speaking on *Rethinking Culture in Psychopathology and Clinical Practice*. Our Section Business Meeting will be on Thursday June 11, 2009 at 8:00 a.m. and we will be hosting a reception on Friday June 12 at 4:30 p.m. We are excited to have a full conference program including six symposia, five theory reviews, one workshop, several conversation sessions, and numerous posters.

#### <u>Awards</u>

In Halifax, Dr. Lee Handy was recognized for his outstanding career in counselling psychology with the Distinguished Member Award. The 2008 winner of the Master's Thesis Award was Becky Stewart from Trinity Western for her work on *Attachment and Women's Coping with Sexual Assault*. In addition four students were given awards for high quality posters: Olga Oulanova (OISE), Natalie Hansen (University of British Columbia), Reana Saraceni (University of Calgary), and Marianna Terrett (University of British Columbia).

#### **Past-Year Projects**

The major section project has been the Executive Committee for a Canadian Definition of Counselling Psychology. The committee members included Robinder Bedi (co-chair), Beth Haverkamp (co-chair), Romeo Beatch, Douglas Cave, José Domene, Greg Harris, and Anne Marie Miklail. This committee presented a Symposium in Halifax followed by a conversation session. Background information and a draft definition were posted on the counselling Section website. Following broad consultation and invited feedback, the committee has now completed a draft definition, which will be put forward to the membership for a vote at our AGM in Montreal.

## **Next-Year Projects**

The section plans to establish a by-laws review committee to look at up-dating the section by-laws. We also hope to re-form the accreditation committee once the definition of counselling psychology has been approved. This committee was formed in the past given current accreditation standards are designed to meet the needs of clinical psychologists, not counselling psychologists. However, this committee was disbanded due to the need to clearly define the field of counselling psychology as a first step.

Submitted by: Sharon Cairns, Chair