Canadian Psychological Association Section on Counselling Psychology

Minutes of the Annual Meeting Thursday June 8th, 2017

Present: Robinder Bedi, Brittany Budzan, Sharon Cairns, Alexandra Campos, José Domene, Lara Hiseler, Theresa Jubenville-Wood, Janelle Kwee, Mihaela Launeanu, Jamie MacDougall, Jennifer Titus, Jessica Van Vliet, Kaori Wada, Richard Young, Michael Zwiers

- 1. Call to order: 4:20 pm
- 2. Motion to approve agenda- Moved: Rob Bedi. Seconded: Jessica Van Vliet. Carried.
- 3. Motion to approve minutes of 2016 annual meeting- Moved: Lara Hiseler. Seconded: Michael Zwiers. Carried.
- 4. Updates from members of the executive:
 - i. Report from Awards Coordinator. Newly elected Fellow of CPA: Nancy Arthur. Master's thesis award winner: Zarina Giannone. Best doctoral dissertation award: Kaori Wada.
 - Report from Student Representative. Developed student-oriented presentation on counselling psychology as a discipline. Round-table on this topic presented at CPA conference. Article written and published in Psynopsis on pursuing graduate education in counselling psychology
 - iii. Report from Secretary-Treasurer. Discussion of 2017 budget- Motion to approve budget. Moved: Richard Young. Seconded: Sharon Cairns. Carried. Discussion of proposed changes to Terms of Reference- Moved: Richard Young. Seconded: Lara Hiseler. Carried.
 - iv. Report from Past Chair. The past-chair summarized his activities over the past year, particularly in relation to efforts to increase membership.
 - v. Report from Review Coordinator (in absentia). Summarized conference programming and conference review process this year.
 - vi. Report from the Chair. Discussion of the Section's activities over the past year. Provided information about the newsletter. Provided information about next year's conference / ICAP. Provided information about the 2018 Canadian Counselling Psychology Conference.
 - Suggestion from the floor. For the Newsletter to feature articles focused on clinical psychology programs or internships that are open to counselling psychology students.
- 5. Discussion about the decline in Section membership that has occurred over the past few years, including potential contributing factors to the decline, and potential strategies for reversing the decline.

Suggestions from the floor included:

i. Working actively with the doctoral programs in terms of doing more to promote involvement

Canadian Psychological Association Section on Counselling Psychology

in the section and CPA.

- ii. Finding out more about the professional identity of students and faculty in counselling psychology programs: Do they identify with our discipline? If not, then with whom?
- iii. Promoting the counselling psychologist professional identity to students who have not adopted such an identity.
- iv. Increasing awareness about the distinct professional identity of counselling psychology in contrast to other professions.
- v. Asking people who are no longer members of the section what their reasons were for leaving the section.
- vi. Student members who do not remain in the section after graduation may be encouraged to remain by extending student member rates 1 to 2 years post-graduation. We should also advocate that CPA as a whole does the same.
- vii. Free one-year membership for any new people who join the Section and have never been members.
- viii. More focus on practitioners in section activities, including the conference (e.g., practice-oriented workshops in the conference and at pre-conference).
- ix. Reaching out to members of other Sections of CPA to offer pre-conference and other programming in collaboration with them

6. Elections

- i. Nominee for : Coleen Haney. Elected by acclamation
- ii. Nominee for : Martha Hamadraka. Elected by acclamation
- iii. In the absence of anyone standing for election to chair elect, a motion was made to extend Anusha's term in office as Chair of the section by one year. Moved: Kaori Wada. Seconded: José Domene. Motion carried.
- 7. Acknowledgements of the hard work and accomplishments of the outgoing members of the executive. Motion to adjourn meeting.
- 8. Moved: Theresa Jubenville. Meeting adjourned at 5:21 pm