

# CPA Section on Counselling Psychology Minutes of the Annual Meeting June 7, 2021

**Present:** Marvin McDonald, Tanya Mudry, Janet Miller, Danielle Brosseau, Houyuan Luo, Franziska Kintzel, Jessica Van Vliet, Kaori Wada, José Domene, Ada Sinacore, Anusha Kassan, Sophie Yohani, Thea Comeau, Bill MacMurray

1. Call to Order: 16:18 MDT (chair)

## 2. Acknowledgement of land and welcome (chair)

Given the online format for the AGM, participants were invited to join in acknowledging the Indigenous Peoples' lands they currently reside on and work from using the chat feature.

# 3. Review and approval of AGM agenda (chair)

Chair invited review and additions or changes to the agenda. None were received from the floor. Motion to approve agenda passed unanimously.

Question from the floor regarding whether or not quorum is met. Bylaws for the section state that quorum for the AGM is set as the number in attendance at the AGM.

#### 4. Executive committee reports and updates

Secretary-Treasurer (Danielle Brosseau)

The 2020 AGM minutes were circulated to members prior to this meeting via the section listsery. Questions and comments on the minutes were invited: None received.

#### 2020 AGM

Motion to approve the 2020 AGM minutes passed unanimously.

Details from the 2020 fiscal year were presented and summarized. The 2021 budget proposed by the section executive passed unanimously.

#### **Awards Coordinator** (Tanya Mudry)

Exceptionally, two Distinguished Member Awards were presented to two members who have divergent but equally deserving strengths. Recipients:

Dr. Anusha Kassan (University of British Columbia)

Dr. Marvin McDonald (Trinity Western University)

# **Best Doctoral Dissertation Award recipient:**

Dr. Julie Cohen (University of Calgary) for her dissertation titled: *An Exploration of Canadian Multicultural and Social Justice Training, Centering the Voices of Minoritized Students* 

# **Best Masters Dissertation Award recipient:**

Ms. Amanda Krauss (University of Ottawa) for her Master's thesis titled: *Peer Aggression and Teacher-Student Relationship Quality: A Meta-Analytic Investigation* 

Students will be provided with a letter of recognition, a \$100 honorarium and will be featured in the next issue of *Kaleidoscope*.

Student Poster awards will be adjudicated in the coming week.

Thank you to the following section members for volunteering their time for award adjudication: Danika Overmars, Houyuan Luo, José Domene, Jessical Van Vliet, Marvin McDonald, Ibukunoluwa Adekoya, and Franziska Kintzel

# **Conference coordinator** (Houyuan Lou)

The section received 51 total submissions this year: 25 posters, 16 snapshots, two review sessions, three symposiums, one standard workshop, two pre-convention PD workshops, nine 12-minute Talks, and two conversation sessions. Following review, all submissions were accepted.

Nine reviewers helped with the review of submissions. Thanks to each of these reviewers for their time and wisdom.

### **Student Representative** (Franzi Kintzel)

Franzi will be exploring how to update the 'What is Counselling Psychology?' presentation that was designed several years ago. Planning to make a version that is accessible to undergraduate programs and able to be posted to the section webpage.

The section executive has agreed to set-up an email account for the student representative so that there is consistency even when the student representative changes.

#### Chair Update (Marvin McDonald)

Brief update provided in lieu of time for elections.

Provided update on section membership numbers: Membership exceeded 400 in the current year and represents a positive trend of increasing membership.

- Inviting action-focused follow up from the 2018 Calgary conference. The 2019 proceedings & the CJCP 2020 special section offer resources.
- Section members participated in recommending revisions to the circulated draft CPA accreditation standards.
- Ongoing engagement with CPA Board: Terms of Reference; Human Rights & Social Justice initiatives; new section associate membership.

Work is ongoing in ad hoc committees:

- 2020: section members joined a collaborative initiative among sections to establish a Black Psychology section in the CPA
- 2021: reviewing the proposed revisions of the CPA accreditation standards (ongoing)

### Elections (chair)

Explanation of need for executive members: The executive functioned this past year with just one member who served as chair, although the typical transition would have placed them in the past-chair role (roles of chair-elect and chair-elect were not successfully filled last year). Please consider volunteering in one of the following vacancies:

### The following executive members are transitioning roles:

**Past-chair:** Marvin McDonald agreed to continue to serve **Member-at-large (awards coordinator):** Tanya completed 2-year term. Many thanks.

#### Vacancies:

Chair: Tanya Mudry accepted by acclamation

#### **Chair-elect:**

Invited from the floor – Houyuan Luo. accepted by acclamation

## **Member-at-large (convention coordinator):**

None received from the floor. 2<sup>nd</sup> call for convention coordinator - Jessica Van Vliet. accepted by acclamation

#### Member-at-large (awards coordinator):

elections from the floor - Janet Miller. accepted by acclamation

Question from the floor: How are we going to socialize in this virtual conference? Raised by Jessica Van Vliet.

Opportunity to socialize and celebrate poster award winners.

June 11<sup>th</sup> 6pm EDT. Send out via listery with a zoom link. Shared 'happy hour' space hosted by the counselling psychology section.

Poster award announcements will be made on June 25<sup>th</sup> at a second section social. Time to be decided and circulated via the listsery.

Counselling Psychology Networking Session has also been scheduled.

This is an additional discussion time for section business including ad hoc committee chaired by Kafui Sawyer and discussions regarding the revisions of the standards for accreditation.

June 8 12:45-1:45pm. 61681

Adjourned: 3:34pm MDT (5:34pm EDT)

Minutes prepared by Danielle Brosseau