Quantitative Methods Awards

Quantitative Methods Research Award

This annual (calendar year) award recognizes excellence in a research study focusing on quantitative methods for psychology and published in a refereed scientific journal by a researcher in Canada (i.e., a researcher working at an institution in Canada, or an individual from outside Canada who is a member of the Quantitative Methods Section of CPA).

2021 Award:

Nominations (self/other) for the 2021 Quantitative Methods Research Award should be sent to Dr. Robert Cribbie, Chair, Quantitative Methods Section of CPA (cribbie@yorku.ca). Nominations should include the published manuscript as well as a statement verifying that the submission meets the following requirements:

  1. Manuscript is published in a refereed journal in 2021
  2. At least one of the authors works at a Canadian institution, or at least one of the authors is a member of the Quantitative Methods Section of CPA

The deadline for submissions is April 1, 2022.

Past Winners:

2020: Jason Rights, University of British Columbia
Rights, J., & Sterba, S. (2020). New recommendations on the use of r-squared differences in multilevel model comparisons. Multivariate Behavioral Research, 55 (4), 568–599. https://doi.org/10.1080/00273171.2019.1660605

2019: Cathy Zhang, Victoria Savalei, University of British Columbia
Zhang, X., & Savalei, V. (2019). Examining the effect of missing data on RMSEA and CFI under the normal theory full information maximum likelihood. Structural Equation Modeling, 27, 219-239. https://doi.org/10.1080/10705511.2019.1642111

2018: Carl Farl, McGill University
Paper: Falk, C. F. (2018). Are Robust Standard Errors the Best Approach for Interval Estimation With Nonnormal Data in Structural Equation Modeling? Structural Equation Modeling: A Multidisciplinary Journal, 25, 244-266. https://doi.org/10.1080/10705511.2017.1367254

2017: David Flora, York University
Paper: Pek, J., & Flora, D. B. (2017). Reporting effect sizes in original psychological research: A discussion and tutorial. Psychological Methods, 23, 208–225. DOI: 10.1037/met0000126

Quantitative Methods Student Presentation Award

This annual award is open to all undergraduate and graduate student members of the Quantitative Methods Section of CPA who are presenting in a session sponsored by the Quantitative Methods Section (no nominations are required). In addition to receiving the award, the winner of the Student Presentation Award will also receive a special invitation to publish a report based on the content of the presentation in The Quantitative Methods for Psychology (TQMP).

2020 Winner: TBA

Past Winners:

2019: Linda Farmus, York University
Presentation: Incidence and Interpretation of Statistical Suppression in Psychological Research, Linda Farmus, York University; Naomi Martinez Gutierrez, York University; Robert Cribbie, York University

2018: Nataly Beribisky, York University
Presentation: Visualizing Associations Among Variables: Equivalence and Difference-Based Perspectives, Nataly Beribisky, Linda Farmus, Robert Cribbie, York University

2017: Donna Tafreshi, Simon Fraser University
Presentation: A Review of meta-analysis reporting practices in psychology. Donna Tafreshi, Kathleen Slaney, Simon Fraser University.

2016: Alyssa Counsell, York University
Presentation: Attitudes Towards Statistics and Statistical Software in Psychology: Implications for Teaching and Student Success. Alyssa Counsell, Robert Cribbie, York University.

Quantitative Methods Student Travel Award

Four awards of $250 each will be available to students to recognize exceptional submissions (2 awards) and to help defray the costs for students traveling long distances to attend the convention (2 awards). The award is open to undergraduate or graduate students who apply and are accepted to present within the QM Section at the CPA Annual Meeting. The awards are available for any type of presentation (e.g., poster, workshop, paper presentation). The student must be the first/presenting author on the proposal. Students must notify the Chair of the QM Section once their submission has been accepted so that they may be considered for the award. The awards will be adjudicated by the QM Section Executive and the winners will be notified by the end of April.