The Elinor Ames Award

The Elinor Ames Award is given to the best student presentation in the developmental section at our annual convention.

To be eligible for the award, students must be a first author of the presentation (oral or poster) and must be a member of the section at the time of the convention. The award is for $500 and a certificate.

Previous Winners


The 2011 winner was Austin Sye of Trent University for her poster presentation entitled "Early mathematical development: Processes that lead to higher levels of understanding." Congratulations to Ms. Sye!

Two students were tied for second place in this year's competition.  They are Danielle Labine of Ryerson University and Gregory MacLean of St. Francis Xavier University. Charlene Parker of St. Francis Xavier University and Jessica Flores of University of British Columbia also gave poster presentations worthy of honourable mention.


The 2010 winner was Jennifer Barrett of Laurentian University for her poster presentation entitled "Youth's perceptions of cyber-bullying." Congratulations to Ms. Barrett!


The 2009 winner was Belinda Boekhoven of Carleton University for her poster presentation entitled "Extra-curricular arts activities for adolescents, and the effects of parental involvement." Congratulations to Ms. Boekhoven!